top of page
  • corinnegriffin6

My Second Week in Sorrento

Ciao again! This week has been a bit less eventful, but still very fun. As such, I will go into detail the little events I did. I started Monday strong with a trip to Mt. Vesuvius, one of my bucket list items that I have had since I was a little girl. I am a big hiker and have never had to opportunity to hike a volcano until that day! We took the cicumvesuvio train to Pompeii and the decided that instead of taking taxis, we would try our best to do as locals do and take a 3 euro bus to the crater! The views from the summit were breathtaking, and I even got to see some gas escaping from the crater! Scary, but so cool. We climbed about the equivalent of 75 flights of stairs and walked a quarter of a mile around the crater. I saw butterflies and lizards!










On Friday, I visited Paestum in Salerno. Here is the home of ancient Greece ruins, including a swimming pool, temples, and even a fighting ring that includes lion tunnels! We walked through the ruins under the sweltering heat and then rewarded ourselves with a visit to a local farm that produces fresh buffalo cheese and meat. Salerno is known for it's mozzarella, and it was very good! Unfortunately, it did give me food poisoning, allowing me to feel like a true traveler.





As I said earlier, I got food poisoning from some buffalo cheese so I just had a relaxing day of grocery and linen shopping. I met a man named Ugo who owns Tesori, a beautiful linen store with handmade pieces from Italy and India. We talked about his Neapolitan heritage and he helped me with my Italian. I also got some help from a sweet elderly Italian man at the grocery store who picked me out the freshest tomatoes.


On Sunday, I had a field trip for my Marine Biology trip to the Bay of Ieranto. We hiked about 40 minutes to the bay, which was a bit intense, but worth it for the beautiful views. We snorkeled and saw multiple types of algae, sea stars, and some crabs. I also snorkeled into a cave and saw some purple algae that only grows in darkness! Shortly after, I kayaked on the sea which was fun because I've never done it before.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page