top of page
  • corinnegriffin6

My First Week in Sorrento

Updated: Feb 1


Wow. Where do I begin. I arrived in Sorrento with no expectations, and yet I am in awe of this quaint little town everyday. Last Sunday, I touched down in Naples and began my short bus ride to the top of a mountain that would soon become my home for 5 weeks. Despite my jet lag, I was over the moon to finally be in the country I dreamed of.


The first night was slow, and I took my time enjoying the night lights of the coast of Sorrento. Here's a picture I took from the bus ride from Naples to Sant'Anna Institute:



On Monday, I went on a tour of the city to become familiar with the area. The tour included walking the garden grounds, visiting the Library of San Antonino (Sorrento's Patron Saint), Piazzo Tasso, and Corso Italia. I began to gain a sense of familiarity with the areas I would be inhabiting for the rest of my summer.




On Tuesday morning, I visited Marina Grande with my roommate, Allison. Funny enough, Marina Grande is actually smaller than Marina Piccola, a marina on other side of Sorrento! The Marina has become more of a tourist attraction but still holds true to its fishing village roots. We were lucky enough to see some fishermen coming in from early morning catching. Marina Grande is also where the movie "Miracle in Sorrento" was filmed, which features the iconic actress, Sophia Lauren, who is famous for speaking with her Northern Neopolian accent in the film. The sea was beautiful, and I was amazed by the sincerity and age of the Marina.


That night I got my first taste of Italian cuisine as well, dining on Cacio e Pepe con Limone with a house white wine!

Tuesday is when the real fun began. I had my first course, Perspectives on the Bay of Naples, where I toured more of Sorrento. I also had my marine biology course, which I am ecstatic for. I have always wanted to learn more about the marine environment and the Mediterranean Sea is no finer place to study it. I also did some tourist-y things, such as visiting a sandal maker on Corso Italia, eating gelato, and visiting the public beach! I loved the sandal making shop so much, I got a pair! I have enjoyed practicing my italian with the locals and have found that many fo them are grateful that I am even attempting to speak it.





On Wednesday, I visited the Mediterrenean Sea at a private beach called 'Salvatore'. The price was right, and the water was fantastic. Cool, blue and very salty so I could float. I couldn't believe I was swimming in an ocean across from Mt. Vesuvius.




On Friday, I visited Naples with my UF Class. We saw many churches including the Duomo Di Napoli, which is the most popular church in the city. We visited many churches in many different styles, including Roman and Anjou ones. I tried a sfogliatelle pastry and granita di cafe as we walked the crowded Naples streets. This city is like the New York of Italy; crowded, pushy and rough, except they have a rich and amazing history that cannot be comparable to America. Multiple dynasties ruled here, including the Romans, Greeks, French, Germans, Spanish, and Norwegians. I felt as though I was living a part of history.



On Saturday, I visited Bagni Di Regina Giovanna, and it was my favorite thing I have done here so far. We took a pleasant, one hour hike, through lemon groves, olive groves, and gorgeous private villas. We visited the archeological site where we viewed roman ruins that overlooked the ocean. Shortly after, a couple of us swam in the open ocean on the beach and observed the local fish floundering here. Then, we visited the baths, jumping off a cliff into cool, blue waters. I felt alive and so happy here.
















Sunday I visited Positano and the Amalfi Coast. Positano was gorgeous, with Bougainvillea's decorating the streets, and the smell of lemons in the air. I fell in love with cornetto di pistachio here. The colorful apartments decorating the hills overlooked a busy port. Then, we visited Amalfi, which I did not enjoy. The tourism there is brutal, using precious coral for jewelry and trampling through the water with propeller boats.




All in all, this week was incredible, and I am very excited for what it to come next week. A little sneak peak: Mt. Vesuvius, and an Opera!


Talk to you soon!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page